Our Maritime Business Magazines



Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 13.49.24The International SeaKeepers Society has announced this year’s winner of its prestigious SeaKeeper Award – Alexander W. Dreyfoos. The award will be presented at a reception on 8 October 8th at a private venue in Palm Beach.

Founding member and SeaKeepers pioneer, Alex Dreyfoos is chairman and owner of The Dreyfoos Group and is best known for his manufacturing of electronic equipment for the photography industry. In addition to receiving an Oscar, Mr Dreyfoos holds 10 patents for his photographic technology and electronic equipment in the United States.

Mr Dreyfoos first became involved with SeaKeepers through his support of programming and funding of ocean research, which cemented his long-term commitment to SeaKeepers mission. In 2008, Dreyfoos took ownership of Silver Cloud, a Small Waterplan Area Twin Hull, also known as a SWATH vessel. Mr Dreyfoos chose this unusual twin-hull design due to his wife’s sensitivity to motion. The unique design effectively minimizes all rolling motion.

Mr Dreyfoos joins an elite and influential group of leaders in marine conservation including: Monaco’s own H.S.H. Prince Rainier III and H.S.H. Prince Albert II; French explorer and film producer, Jean Michel Cousteau; Canadian film director/producer and deep-sea explorer, James Cameron and most recently the 2015 recipient Fabien Cousteau.