Our Maritime Business Magazines


2018 European Commercial Marine Awards Announced

The 2018 European Commercial Marine Awards winners were announced on 3 July at a packed ceremony held at the Golden Arrow Restaurant, on site at Seawork International 2018.

The awards evening began with the announcement of the Innovation Showcase award winners including the overall ‘Spirit of Innovation’ Award which went to Landau. The judges were impressed by Landau’s ‘Life Cord’, which is the only ‘smart’ kill cord incorporating detection technology, designed to trigger audible and visual warning alarm should the ‘Lifecord’ be connected.

Further Innovations category awards went to Hull Vane B.V under the Vessel & Design construction for their Patrol vessel ‘RPA-8’, Topbond won Marine Civil Engineering & Construction for their project work on the expansion of London City Airport.

Barrus were awarded the ‘Marine Equipment, Electronics and Materials category for their Mercury 3.4L V-6 FourStroke Outboards, with Avon winning in the Diving & Underwater category for their ‘MCM100’ dive system.

The ECM Maritime Professional of the Year, sponsored by Webasto and presented by Webasto’s Marine Market Manager – Andy Edwards, went to James Walker of Walker Marine Design. The ECM Marine Sustainability award, presented by Malcolm Stewart, Managing Director –  A-Plan, was awarded to Torqeedo for the ECOCAT Zero-Emission Solar-Electric Passenger Ferry.

The ECM Lifetime Achievement award, presented by Andrew Webster CEO of organiser, Mercator Media Ltd, went to Stavros Lalizas of Lalizas. Sandy Messaropoulou – Design Engineer at Lalizas, who nominated Mr Lalizas for the award commented, “Throughout his 36 years of career in manufacturing life jackets under the name of Lalizas, he has shown outstanding vision towards the growth of the Lalizas brand. A small local company located right next to the Port of Piraeus has grown over the years to become a worldwide organization with commercial presence in more than 129 countries.”

The new award, to celebrate the 21st edition of Seawork, was the Young Person’s Development Award which was presented to Robert Deakes – CQC/Bideford College. The award was presented by Andrew Webster- CEO of Mercator Media. Robert says that he intends to use the EUR 965 bursary on a hot-air welding course, enabling him to help the development and prototyping of new safety equipment.

The prestigious Maritime Best Project Award, newly introduced for 2018, recognises the importance of marine civil projects and was awarded to Red7Marine for their work on the Thames Tideway Tunnel. Project.

Seawork 2019 will take place 11-13 June in Mayflower Park, Southampton, UK